The Primary Computing Scheme supports the teaching and the development of computing, building computer science capability and digital literacy for current and future learning.

The scheme is organised into four phases, Early Years, KS1, lower KS2 and upper KS2, with termly learning themes for each.

Including access to an extensive online bank of accompanying materials, the Primary Computing Scheme from Herts for Learning is regularly updated, to stay in line with Government guidelines, the latest thinking and the needs of schools.

For further information about the Primary Computing Scheme or to subscribe, contact us on 01438 845111 or email

  • Termly learning themes from KS1 to upper KS2
  • Themes for potential learning in EYFS
  • Extensive assessment materials which follow Herts for Learning’s PA Plus assessment approach
  • Examples of medium term plans
  • Theme guides to provide deeper explanations and guidance to further simplify the learning objectives for KS1 and KS2
  • A growing bank of online supporting materials including software and activity guides, video guides and links to online resources for use in classroom activities
  • List of hardware/software examples to support each theme
  • Progression papers for each strand of the computing curriculum, including Gifted and Talented provision
  • eSafety progression papers
  • Computing skills that are expected at each key stage including Early Years; these are cross referenced with the Early Years Outcomes, national curriculum expectations and have guidelines about end of key stage expectations
  • Skills audit tool for recognising staff strengths and needs and building on CPD

Subscription charges are as follows, with subscriptions running for a school year.

A discounted rate is available for HfL shareholder schools.

Number of pupils on roll Annual price (ex VAT)
1-99 £137
100-199 £167
200-499 £187
500+ £228


Schools that are subscribing to the Primary Computing Scheme for the first time can also request a three hour visit from a Herts for Learning adviser, which can include a 1 hour staff meeting. For schools where travel is not practical, we offer a shorter adviser session over video link. Please contact us for further information about the visit, details of pricing and available dates.

Schools can also ‘refer a friend’ for £20 cashback (the friend must be a completely new subscriber or not subscribed since version 3).

Contact details